Award Recipients


Emilie Poutasse

David Marein-Efron


Isabel Prosnitz

Finn Daley


Ethan Boyer

Anna Daley-Gibson

Fiona Maruca

Waverly Hassman

Ben Miller-Wilson

Brandon Faust


Chloe Hassman

Sarah Hurst



Sydney Schur

Ella Spencer

Patrick McCann



Rowan Hassman

Liam Sfaxi



Lena Anderson

Davis Burton



Emma Verges

Jonathan Adams



Paige Jacobs

Evan Hassman



Duranya Freeman

Bo Fischer

Peter was a beloved member of the Dashers back in the early 1990's and was one of the original members of the first Dashers' cross country team. He was a hard worker with a tremendously positive attitude. At every practice and meet, Peter consistently demonstrated sportsmanship with both his teammates and competitors. He was never one to shy away from a big race and had much success as one of our strongest distance runners - even competing at the National AAU Cross Country Championships held in Cleveland, Ohio, when he was just twelve years old.


What stands out most about Peter, though, was the type of friend and teammate he was. As his coach, I never once heard him utter a negative word to anyone. My strongest memory of Peter was that every night at the end of practice without fail he used to thank me. He was a true pleasure to coach and I am fortunate to have known him.


Sadly, at the young age of 24, Peter passed away after a hard-fought battle with cancer. Though he is gone, he is most certainly not forgotten and will always remain in my heart. In honor of Peter, each year one boy and one girl will be selected as the recipients of the Peter Hoffman award, given to those two athletes who best demonstrate kindness, respect and sportsmanship towards their teammates, competitors and coaches.  - Dermot